News Details

Windstream Awards $100,000 to Four Schools for New Technology

May 12, 2010

LITTLE ROCK, Ark., May 12, 2010 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Windstream (Nasdaq:WIN) has selected four schools to receive $100,000 for new technology and computer labs as part of the company's second Classroom Connections program.

The four schools selected to receive the $25,000 donations are:

  • Heavener Elementary School in Heavener, Okla.;
  • Lakeshore Elementary School in Mooresville, N.C.;
  • Spring Place Elementary School in Chatsworth, Ga.; and
  • Union Star R-II in Union Star, Mo.

Windstream received more than 120 applications from schools in 13 states. Public and public charter schools in Windstream's service area were eligible to apply online and were required to submit a video with their application. Schools were judged on demonstrated need, creativity and enthusiasm. The winning schools' videos can be viewed online at

In addition, 30 schools are eligible for Spirit Awards. Up to 10 Spirit Awards worth $5,000 each will be awarded based on public online voting. The videos can be viewed and voted on at through August 20, 2010. The 10 schools whose videos receive the most online votes will each receive $5,000 to use at their discretion. 

"Vote, vote, vote!" said Ron Proleika, vice president of marketing communications for Windstream. "Windstream is excited to award the four $25,000 grand prize donations, but it is now up to the students, teachers, parents and friends in these 30 communities to determine the 10 Spirit Award winners."

The Spirit Awards finalists are:

Arkansas: Rose Bud High School, Rosebud.

Georgia: Commerce Middle School, Commerce; North Murray High School, Chatsworth; White County Ninth Grade Academy, Cleveland; Winder-Barrow Middle School, Winder.

Kentucky: Campbellsville Elementary School, Campbellsville; Jessamine Early Learning Village, Wilmore; Monroe County Falcon Academy, Tompkinsville.

Missouri: Northwestern High School, Mendon; St. Elizabeth School, St. Elizabeth.

Nebraska: Humboldt Table Rock Steinauer School, Humboldt.

North Carolina: Aberdeen Elementary School, Aberdeen; J.R. Ingram Elementary, Sanford; Jay M. Robinson High School, Concord; Laurel Hill Elementary School, Laurel Hill.

New Mexico: Nob Hill Early Childhood Center, Ruidoso.

New York: Persell Middle School, Jamestown.

Ohio: Madison High School, Madison; Union Local Elementary School and Union Local Middle School, both in Belmont.

Oklahoma: Margaret Hudson Program, Broken Arrow; Milburn High School, Milburn; Prague High School, Prague.

Pennsylvania: Northwest Tri-County Intermediate Unit, Edinboro; West End Elementary School, Meadville.

South Carolina: Landrum Middle School and O.P. Earle Elementary School, both in Landrum.

Texas: Burkeville Jr. Sr. High School, Burkeville; Montague Elementary, Montague; Ralls Middle School, Ralls.

About Windstream

Windstream Corp. (Nasdaq:WIN), headquartered in Little Rock, Ark., is an S&P 500 company with communications operations in 21 states and about $3.7 billion in annual revenues. Windstream provides phone, high-speed Internet and high-definition digital TV services. The company also offers a wide range of IP-based voice and data services and advanced phone systems and equipment to businesses and government agencies. For more information about Windstream, visit

The Windstream Corporation logo is available at

CONTACT:  Windstream Corp.
          Media Contact:
          Erin Ascione

          Twitter: @windstream
          Facebook: Windstream Communications